Gojo Machiya

Actual Guest Reviews

違い鷹の羽

 

Actual reviews and comments from previous guests. These reviews were posted on Airbnb or FlipKey web sites or passed on to us directly.  Many thanks to our guests who are taking the time to leave us a review.

Presentation   –   Detailed DescriptionLocation   –   Guest Reviews

 

Everything was perfect

Everything was perfect

Laura
Laura From Rome, Italy
Date of Stay: April 2017

“Dear Akiko, we spent a wonderful time in Kyoto and in your machiya; everything was perfect and we specially liked the traditional set of the house combined with modern conveniences. I will share your address with a number of my friends. Thank you very much for your help Laura”

 

We are delighted that we picked your home

We are delighted that we picked your home

Kirstie
Kirstie From Canberra, Australia
Date of Stay January 2016

 

Dear Akiko,

We had a wonderful stay in your beautiful home. The beauty of the house and the warm atmosphere really added to our experience of Kyoto. We are delighted that we picked your home. Thank you for the time you spend to create such a wonderful experience for your guests.

Warm regards

Kirstie and family

 

La casa es sencillamente fantástica

Maria Luisa
Maria Luisa from Buenos Aires, Argentina
Date of Stay December 2015

La casa es sencillamente fantástica. Linda, cómoda, bien equipada. el barrio está perfectamente ubicado. Cerca de estación y en la zona más importante para visitar en Kyoto. Vivimos 6 varones durante 5 días y la disfrutamos mucho. No dudaría en volver a alquilarla si volviera a Kyoto. Excelente opción!

Attention to detail is impeccable

Christina
Christina from Carlisle, Australia
Date of Stay November 2015

Kyoto Gojo Samurai Machiya is a beautifully renovated traditional Kyoto Townhouse – we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there for 3 nights – despite not being able to met up with us, Akiko left us some delicious Japanese treats, this attention to detail is impeccable. – Although a little out of the way, and checkout is at another ryokan (10min walk from Kyoto station) but the directions given were very clear.If given the opportunity we would be happy to return again

Gojo machiya is the best BnB we have tried

Ck
Ck from Shanghai
Date of Stay November 2015

Gojo machiya is the best BnB we have tried so far. The location is in a quiet neighbourhood within 10 mins walk from Kiyomizu and about 15-20 mins walk from Gion. The beautifully restored machiya is an absolute dream! Very comfortable stay for four of us. A lot of effort and thoughts have obviously went into the deco and setting up of the place .. With nice touches like floor warming, smart bathroom and a little traditional garden. Even tho we didn’t have the chance to meet the hosts, checkin instructions and everything we need to know about the house was clearly stated in house manual. The helpful and responsive hosts also helped us to make reservation for a wonderful Kaiseki lunch before our trip. Will definitely choose to stay here again if we are back in Kyoto. 5 stars experience !!!

The house is spacious and clean

Vincent
Vincent from Hong Kong
Date of Stay November 2015

We (4 people) stayed here for 7 nights. The house is spacious and clean. It was well equipped and all the amenities we need were available. The location of the house is great. It is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood. You won’t have any problem with noises at night. There are 2 Keihan train stations close by which is very convenient. And it only takes around 15 minutes to walk to Gion. The owners, Akiko and Patrick, were extremely helpful and always replied to our messages promptly. They helped us with restaurant reservations and they recommended some nice places for us to visit. Patrick welcomed us in person the night we arrived at the house and he was friendly and informative. The house is ideal for 4 persons and we would highly recommend it to people who travels with friends or family.

非常精致的装修

Zhu
Zhu China
Date of Stay October 2015

非常精致的装修,尤其是浴室,洗澡太舒服了。行李寄存处和akiko也非常热心

I highly recommend staying here if you are in Kyoto

Aaron
Aaron From Dallas, Texas, United States
Date of Stay October 2015

Our stay at the house was fantastic. Akiko provided all of the information we needed for checking in and finding the house. The house had a great mix of a traditional feel, but with updated and modern features. I highly recommend staying here if you are in Kyoto.

Very quick to respond to any question

Natasha
Natasha From San Diego, California, United States
Date of Stay October 2015

Great stay! Place was decorated great and it truly made the Japanese stay worth it. The mattresses were a little stiff for our liking but we made it work. 15/20 min walk to the central area but it was good to explore. Would definitely come back! They were very quick to respond to any question we had! Thank you again!

Great location, very close to a subway line

Will
Will From London, United Kingdom
Date of Stay October 2015

It was a great experience staying at the Kiyomizu Samurai house for us 6 travellers. It had everything we needed and the washer dryer was a bonus. The house had very nice touches, decorative kimono, samurai Steve, Japanese art work and a Japanese style shower and bath. The accommodation was in a great location, very close to a subway line and convenient stores for buying breakfast and late night snacks. The check in process was managed by a separate office 10 mins walk from Kyoto station and was very easy with the information sent prior to arrival. We did have an issue entering the actual accommodation on the first night which was quickly resolved by a phone call to the host. A part from this I would stay here again.

The house itself was a real gem

Kobi
Kobi From Ningbo, China
Date of Stay October 2015

Akiko and Patrick were wonderful hosts from the very beginning, answering all inquiries promptly and attentively, while being extremely helpful with every aspect related to our stay in Kyoto. Check-in process was easy and fast and finding the house inside the lovely alleys was a piece of cake using their detailed directions. The house itself was a real gem: beautifully designed and decorated, spacious and convenient, combining a sense of traditional Japan with all the modern comforts and treats. Location was fantastic, inside a quiet residential area, but close enough to walk to many of the city’s main points of interests like Gion and even to Kyoto’s center if you like walking like we do. Public transportation to other places in and around town was also easily accessible. 5 days in Kyoto was hardly enough to scrape the surface. We truly hope coming back again and finding Akiko and Patrick as our hosts.

One of the best accommodation I have stayed in

Paul
Paul From Auckland, New Zealand
Date of Stay September 2015

One of the best accomadations i have stayed. It even looks better than the pictures. Nice and comfortable for our group of 7.

Great consideration and thoughtfulness for guests

Joe
Joe From North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA
Date of Stay August 2015

Akiko and Patrick were superb hosts of a very refined, traditional Japanese wooden townhouse. The interior and aesthetic are just as described. It sits within a quiet neighborhood although easily accessed by public transportation. Check in and check out, as well as concerns during our stay, were made easy by a professional property manager. There is great consideration and thoughtfulness for guests, as demonstrated in the attention to detail and the efficiency of operation. We are a family of four, my wife and two teenage boys; and we for the most part lived comfortably within the space. Six people might feel a little congested, especially if all were adults and gathered together at one time. Being traditional in its design, the townhouse has little closet or storage space, so luggage may cause further crowding. The main bathroom on the other hand, is relatively spacious, with smart separation of space for privacy and aesthetic. The boys adjusted well to the futon floor bedding, my wife, on the other hand, struggled somewhat with the “Western style bedding”; an unusual mattress design. We very much enjoyed Akiko’s attention to our overall experience, providing us an opportunity to participate in a morning Buddhist service with our neighbors and a visiting local monk. As was the case throughout our entire three weeks in Japan, but most especially at its conclusion during the last five days in Kyoto, we felt so very welcomed and at home: 9 bows and 99 blessings to Akiko and Patrick!

La maison est en un mot parfaite

Jean-Marc
Jean-Marc From Noumea, New Caledonia
Date of Stay August 2015

Mieux que sur les photos ! La maison est vraiment rénovée avec goût, super équipée, propre, en un mot parfaite. Accueil sympa et instructif par Julien. Emplacement idéal pour visiter Kyoto. Pour une première sur AirbBNB nous sommes enchantés. La barre est haute pour notre prochain voyage !

 

…to make you guests feel at home with full concert

…to make you guests feel at home with full concert

Herb
Herb From New Taipei City, Taiwan
Date of Stay November 2015

 

Dear Akiko San, after three days of touring Kyoko extensively, we finally have a chance to relax in the house. It is time that we start to appreciate how much thought and care you put into the house to make you guests feel at home with full concert. Thank you very much!

The location was central, walking distance to Ginza district

Sean
Sean From Claremont, California, USA
Date of Stay July 2015

We had a lovely time in Kyoto at the Gojo Machiya Samurai House. Our two daughters loved Samurai Steve and fell right asleep knowing he was watching over them in the tatami room. The location was central, walking distance to Ginza district and close to the bus routes we used to visit all of the temples and sites. It was a pleasant and safe residential neighborhood. The home itself was very well equipped and everything was labeled in Japanese and English. There was even a helpful house manual and packet of maps, coupons and guidebooks to use. We made good use of the super fast internet and laundry machine as well. Akiko’s son Julian met us at the property and showed us how everything worked. He gave us a number to reach him in case of emergency. We didn’t need it because everything worked out great. Thanks again!! Sean, Amanda, Annabelle & Eloise (Claremont, CA)

Location is good for accessing tourist areas on foot

Kay
Kay From Bundaberg, Australia
Date of Stay July 2015

Our host made us feel very welcome with clear message communication for our arrival. They met us at our accommodation to greet us and speak about the property and features and local area. The add gives a very clear description of the property. It is very comfortable. We tested it with six adults. Location good for accessing tourist areas on foot or with transport. Choice of good eateries close by. Great opportunity to live in a residential area and walk in their streets.

La maison est à fois traditionnelle, confortable et extrêmement bien équipée

Jean-Marie
Jean-Marie From Cachan, France
Date of Stay July 2015

Cette jolie maison est située dans un quartier calme, traditionnel, plein de charme et très proche de plusieurs temples, dont Kyomizu-dera. La maison est à fois traditionnelle, confortable et extrêmement bien équipée. Sa décoration est recherchée. La pièce principale et la salle de bains (typiquement japonaise) ouvrent sur un ravissant petit jardin intérieur. Les hôtes, Akiko et Patrick, charmants et pleins d’attentions, nous ont bien aidés.

Everything was truly wonderful…

Everything was truly wonderful…

Will & Marjie
Will & Marjie From Hawaii, USA
Date of Stay July 2015

We absolutely loved staying in Gojo Machiya in Kyoto. This two story traditional house (Machiya) is absolutely beautiful and comfortable for 4 or 6 people and is in a good location near the Gion district. The house was exactly as described on Airbnb but even surpassed our expectations…it has been beautifully restored and modernized with all sorts of wonderful amenities, including a traditional furo (bath) and shower, fully supplied kitchen, japanese tatami room, garden and very comfortable beds and futons. I am an architect and was extremely impressed with the quality of this home, we were honored to have the opportunity to enjoy this wonderful home and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Kyoto for a few days.

Everything was truly wonderful…thank you again for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home.

The modern mixed with traditional decor was just what we were looking for

The modern mixed with traditional decor was just what we were looking for

Shannon
Shannon From New York, USA

Date of Stay May 2015

Excelente lugar, quieres saber que es vivir en Japon

Excelente lugar, quieres saber que es vivir en Japon

Ricardo
Ricardo From Culiacán Rosales, Mexico

Date of Stay June 2015

很棒的体验!(A great experience!)

很棒的体验!(A great experience!)

An3San3
An3San3 From Beijing, China

Date of Stay June 2015

The atmosphere is great

The atmosphere is great

Peter
Peter From Buenos Aires, Argentina

Date of Stay May 2015

It was a magical experience for all of us

It was a magical experience for all of us

Louise
Louise From England, United Kingdom

Date of Stay May 2015

We could really enjoy and relax only among friends

We could really enjoy and relax only among friends

Suzuki Kumi
Suzuki Kumi From Sagamihara, Japan

Date of Stay May 2015

The Gojo Samurai Machiya is a must

The Gojo Samurai Machiya is a must

Chiara
Chiara From Rome, Italy

Date of Stay May 2015

The Gojo Samuarai Machiya is a must if you want to experience the traditional japanese way of living. It perfectly blends the fascination OF an old but perfectly refurbished house with technogical and modern facilities (the bathroom experience is amazing). The surroundings are nice and quiet, at walking distance from subway and some key attractions in Hagashiyama and Gojo. Be aware that having one single bathroom (tub+shower), it could time-demanding when you have lot of guests in the house.

Toujours près a nous aider et conseiller lors de notre séjour

Toujours près a nous aider et conseiller lors de notre séjour

Boris
Boris From Neuchatel, Switzerland

Date of Stay May 2015

Petite maison japonaise très charmante, chaleureuse et aménagé avec soins. Il y a pleins de petits détails dans la décoration a découvrir lors du séjour. Absolument rien ne manque point de vue confort…. La localisation à 5 min du centre de Gion est parfaite pour découvrir la ville de Kyoto ou pour en faire la base pour découvrir les environs de Kyoto. Les hôtes sont très accueillants, avec de petites attentions qui vous attendent. Toujours près a nous aider et conseiller lors de notre séjour et cela avec une rapidité exceptionnelle. a recommander !

非常棒的体验

非常棒的体验

Tony
Tony From Shanghai, China

Date of Stay April 2015

非常棒的体验,一行五人,房间软装非常的棒,设施齐全,另第一天入住,Partrik还送了小吃。 非常感谢

tony

%d bloggers like this: